SC Gowland – author of The Souls’ Abyss

My first memory is of holding a light sabre. I misspent much of my youth playing video-games and daydreaming that I was a Jedi or Buck Rogers. Always an enormous fan of fantasy novels, my favourite authors include Joe Abercrombie, George RR Martin and David Gemmell. 

I live by the sea with my family, still daydreaming about imaginary worlds, doing limited housework, and reading far less than I should.

You can find me on Twitter @stevegowland

Success! You're on the list.

Hello and welcome to my website.

I am SC Gowland, an international selling author, semi-finalist of the Self Publishing Fantasy Blog Off (SPFBO6) and the Book Blogger Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) 2021.  THE DARK CROWN was my debut novel, and COVEN OF SHADOWS is book two of the THE SOULS’ ABYSS trilogy. Book three – DARKNESS FALLS is out at the end of January 2022.

Reviews of The Dark Crown:

“Well written, engaging characters and I was definitely left wanting to read the next book.”

“Right away I felt that this was going to be ‘me’ kind of book since it features a darker world juxtaposed by flawed, but well-meaning characters.”

“This ending will leave you clambering to find out what happens next “

Reviews of the Coven of Shadows:

“Epic fantasy at its best…”

“A fantastic read, full of snappy dialogue and emotional resonance.”

“Coven of Shadows is a great book and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

The world is shrouded in darkness…

Within the walls of Zapomniane prison, Kaoldan schemes to escape. He has a promise to fulfil, and nothing will stop him.

Meanwhile, Romina battles to survive against Otan forces. When a stranger offers her a way out, she must decide whether to save herself or stand against the evil that threatens the world.

Zahara has left her loved ones behind. She bears a secret that might destroy her – and the realm. The enemy relentlessly hunts her, determined to take back what she stole. If they succeed, all is lost.

Fates collide and the light shines anew in the epic conclusion to the first SOULS’ ABYSS trilogy.